My Account Navigation


Asaka Quartet

Asaka Quartet

This is to say a massive thank you for such a brilliant evening's music-making for us in Edenbridge on Saturday. Your energy, musicianship, enthusiasm and enjoyment were so infectious. The audience loved it, and, as I said, many of us will be following your careers with eager anticipation.

Alec Crowe – Professor Royal Academy Opera, February 28th 2022

The quartet displayed a remarkable mastery of a varied programme of music. Throughout, the Asaka Quartet brought a youthful exuberance to a testing programme, and thoroughly delighted their audience.

Bob Wells, article in Spotlight on Edenbridge

Quartet - String Quartet


  • Iona McDonald - Violin
  • Eriol Guo Yu - Violin
  • Inis Oírr Asano - Viola
  • Jonathan Ho Man Fong - Cello


Bax, Quartet No. 1 in G major

Beethoven, Quartet in G major Op. 18 No. 2

Beethoven, Quartet in C minor Op. 18 No. 4

Beamish, Quartet No. 3 'Reed Stanzas'

Brahms, Quartet in C minor, Op. 51 No. 1

Mozart, 'Hunt' Quartet No. 17 in B flat major

Haydn, Quartet in D minor, Op. 20 No. 1

Haydn, Quartet in B minor Op. 33 No. 1

Mendelssohn, Quartet in E flat major, Op. 12 No. 1

Danish String Quartet selection

Prokofiev, Quartet No. 2 in F, Op. 92

Tchaikovsky, Quartet No. 1 in D, Op. 11

Walton, Quartet in A minor


Asaka Quartet is an upcoming string quartet formed in 2021 by Iona McDonald, Eriol Guo Yu, Inis Oírr Asano and Jonathan Ho Man Fong, current students studying with scholarships at the Royal Academy of Music in London. In October 2021, after playing for only a week, they were selected for the prestigious Frost Trust Advanced Specialist Strings Ensemble Training Scheme (A.S.S.E.T.) at the Academy where they are mentored by Martin Outram. The four members receive lessons from Maureen Smith, Michael Foyle, Paul Silverthorne, Yuko Inoue and Josephine Knight.

In February 2022, Asaka was joined by students in a performance of Schubert’s Octet in the Academy’s Bicentenary Chamber Festival, invited and coached by Levon Chilingirian, and have since enjoyed performing various recitals in the UK. In June 2022, they will attend the Tunnell Trust's Chamber Music Coll course upon invitation by Jonathan Tunnell.

In September, they will begin their position as Chamber Music Fellows at the Royal Academy of Music for the academic year of 2022/2023.