Sign In Navigation


Ian Watt

Ian Watt

...a dazzlingly virtuosic performance...

The Herald

Watt's exceptional range of timbre is especially apparent in John McLeod's inventive Fantasy on themes from Britten's Gloriana, while the opening of [Britten's] Nocturnal is sublime...

BBC Music Magazine

Solo - String


  • Ian Watt - Guitar


Ian Watt's wide repertoire encompasses music from Europe and America, spanning half a Millennium. He always aims to present a wide range of classical repertoire in each concert and usually includes some music written before 1750 and some works from Spain. In general, both substantial works (such as sonatas) and shorter pieces are programmed together. Composers whom Watt particularly enjoys presenting include Luis Milan, Francesco da Milano, Robert de Visee, Bach, Paganini, Sor, Aguado, Chopin, Albeniz, Granados, Tarrega, Falla, Turina, Rodrigo, Jose, Villa-Lobos, Ponce and Barrios.


Guitarist Ian Watt has appeared as a soloist throughout the world, having given recitals in the USA, China, Korea, Brazil, Spain, Italy, Germany, Czech Republic, Hungary, Ukraine, Denmark, Estonia and performed concertos with the BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra, Los Angeles Chamber Orchestra, City of London Sinfonia and Scottish Philharmonic Orchestra. Additionally, Watt's playing has been broadcast on BBC Radio 2, BBC Radio 3, BBC Radio Scotland, Classic FM, NDR Radio (Germany) and WSMC Radio (USA) and he has released three solo recordings with Nimbus Alliance records.


Visit Website