My Account Navigation


Resol String Quartet

Resol String Quartet

"The Resol quartet... is making an impact for the dedication and passion in its playing. What they are doing is marvellous, for chamber music and for us, while lockdown continues to quash live performance."

David White, ArtMagUk, 2021

"Arresting and engaging from the outset... a beautifully-shaped, playful interpretation with an unforced, instinctively musical sense of direction as well as real clarity... a fully-achieved and intensely musical interpretation; one to revisit with real pleasure."

Richard Bratby, adjudicator, CAVATINA Intercollegiate Chamber Music Competition, 2021

Quartet - String Quartet


  • Maria Vila Ariza - Violin 1
  • Annabel Kidd - Violin 2
  • Raphael Chinn - Viola
  • Futo Yamane - Cello


Beethoven Quartet Op.18 ns. 2,4,5,6

Boccherini Quartet in B-flat Major Op.2 no.2

Bridge "Three Idylls" for String Quartet, H.67

Dvorak Quartet No.12 in F Major, "American" Op.96

Haydn Quartet in C Major Op.20 no.2

Haydn Quartet in C Major Op.76 no.3 "Emperor"

Haydn Quartet in D Major Op.76 no.5

Jessie Montgomery-Strum

Mendelsshon Quartet No.2 in a minor Op.13

Mendelsshon Quartet No.6 in F minor Op.80

Mozart Quartet No.17 in B-flat Major K. 458 "The Hunt"

Mozart Quartet No.19 in C Major K.465 "Dissonance"

Nielsen Quartet in f minor Op.5 No.2

Philip Glass "Company"

Puccini "Crisantemi"

Shostakovich Quartet No.3 in F Major Op.73

Shostakovich Quartet No.7 in f-sharp minor Op.108


Resol String Quartet -Biography

Friends joined through their love of chamber music, the Resol String Quartet formed in the Autumn of 2018 at the Royal Conservatoire of Scotland, with a vision to make classical music more inclusive both in the present and for the future.

In a constant pursuit for excellence, these young artists share their joy of music making and act as ambassadors for chamber music, keeping it alive in today’s society. The group feel just as at home in education and care settings as they do on the concert platform and strive to blend all this work together. In the concert hall they approach their interpretations from a historically informed perspective, bringing a unique take on repertoire from all eras.

In May 2021, the quartet were awarded both the First Prize, and Audience Prize in the CAVATINA Competition at the Wigmore Hall, representing the Royal Conservatoire of Scotland. In the same year, they made their Perth Concert Hall debut, were named as one of Chamber Music Scotland’s ‘One’s to Watch’ and were accepted to work with Live Music Now Scotland. They also appeared live on BBC Radio Scotland’s ‘Classics Unwrapped’. In 2022 they made their Conway Hall Debut as part of their historic ‘Sunday Concert Series’.

Education is an important aspect of the quartet’s work. Each concert tour sees them visit local schools in the communities in which they perform. The quartet have worked in several schools across Scotland and the South of England, in particular working on several occasions with Oban High School and Worth School in West Sussex. In June 2022 they adjudicated the final of the Worth Young Musician of the Year Competition.

Upcoming plans include four concerts in Spain and Catalonia, a tour across Scotland featuring a new take on Mozart’s Eine Kleine Nachtmusik in collaboration with Chamber Music Scotland and musicologist Bruce Fox- Lefriche and an exciting project at the end of the year with Sussex based composer Julian Broughton, including a fascinating new commission.